Do You Have Faith? – A Lesson In Life From “Honey”

We’d had a conversation a long time ago about death and dying. I’ll never forget it because it was shortly after my father passed away. I asked mom how she kept so strong in such a trying time. She told me in two words. “My faith.” I watched for the next eighteen years as her faith got her past many more of life’s challenges, including lung cancer surgery at the age of eighty-one.

faith

Fast forward six years.

Mom had been admitted with a sodium deficiency. I just figured it to be another bump in the road that would be navigated easily. Recovery would be swift. It was my mom. She is the strongest person I know. She’ll pull through this with no problem. Just another cog in the wheel. She had a short stay in the hospital, the sodium levels were regulated and time to go home. She was a little weak but, what do you expect at 87 years old. This was “Honey” Carbon! She can wrestle an alligator at 80 years old and make it beg for its life she’s so tough.Then reality hit me. Waiting to go home, in the few minutes we had alone she said. “This is the last hurrah my boy.” I choked back tears and told her things would work out. After all, they always did. You see, she had a trip planned for Georgia to see grandchildren and great-grandchildren. Nothing I could have said or done would have stopped her from going.

Upon her immediate return from Georgia she was re-admitted to the hospital where I would witness her faith in God. Never once did she complain of anything. Not of pain, nor of discomfort. Not a peep. She wasn’t scared of dying. I knew it was her faith in the Lord that would get her home safe.

On the Sunday before she passed I watched as one grandchild after another, one great-grandchild after another, brought joy to her face laying in that hospital bed. Knowing she would never see, speak to, or hold them again I watched as she kissed them and loved them all equally. I saw the contentment that her faith brought her in her last days. Her last hours.

untitled-17

untitled-9

untitled-3

untitled-13

 19

 73

The pictures above are just some of the grandkids and great-grandkids my mother is responsible for.

How many of you can say you have that much faith? So much faith you’re not scared as death comes to take you home?

Related articles

11 comments

  1. What a sweet tribute Tony. Brings tears to my eyes.
    My mom’s the only one of that generation left for my wife and I. I am her oldest and we are fortunate that she’ll be moving in with us early next year. People are funny when I tell them and they tell me how difficult it will be, living with mom. You remind me what the difficult part will actually be…

    1. John

      Thanks my friend. I was fortunate enough that my mom lived close to me and was able to be with her as much as I could. I’ll miss the breakfast/lunch chats we had often.

  2. Tony, I agree !!! We all could learn from them !!!

    1. Laura

      Thanks for reading. She will continue to teach me well past her death I’m sure.

  3. I’ve been grappling with this one for a long time. She was the best example we could have hoped for.

    1. Eric

      You saw it firsthand for years. Follow her example. It doesn’t have to be your faith in God, but just faith in general. I fought it for a long time. I won’t any longer.

      1. I think another good work for faith is surrender. Especially when faith in God isn’t your bag. Surrender and trust that everything will work out the way it is supposed to.

  4. Beautiful.

  5. […] my Uncle Tony wrote, she was stronger than we could believe, and unbeatable. It never occurred to me, even as I saw her […]

Did you want to leave a comment? I love comments!

