Willing To Give Up Everything For Desire?

Anterior cingulate cortex.

Anterior cingulate cortex. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

There are technical answers as too what part of the brain controls emotion.  I could sit  here and tell you how studies have shown that the anterior cingulate cortex (ACC), are responsible for controlling emotions.  Desire, in my opinion, is one of the strongest emotions.

A specific question I’d like to pose to you is, how do you achieve desire to do something in your life?  Are you born with it? Is it something that is taught?  Is it something that your parents drive into you at an early age?  I mean real, deep down desire to become the best?  Is it the monitory prize at the end?  Or is it the desire of being the best?  What makes someone desire something so badly they’d give up everything to achieve it?

I’ve heard all the cliché’s.  Picture the luxury home, or, the luxury car you’ve always wanted and strive for it.  Get a picture of something you want so badly you’d do anything to get it and, post it and look at it everyday.  Everyday make this your priority.  Don’t think about anything else but making this desire to happen.

I have to tell you I don’t get it.

You read about it all the time.  They guy that built his business from the ground up.  Started with nothing and now runs a multimillion dollar operation.  What’s the one thing you always hear? “I gave up everything I had to get what I built.”  Family, friends, even kids athletic or theatrical events.  The only thing they ever did was work at building on that desire.

I don’t know.  The world needs leaders just as it needs followers.  I’ve always been content on letting someone else lead the way.  So does that make me any less of a person?  Am I to be looked down upon because I’ve never felt as strongly about a desire?

I’ve never understood why someone would want to give everything for a desire.  And I mean everything.  Then why get married and have children?  Aren’t they the ones that will suffer in the end?  Think about it.  Your never around.  Your marriage becomes frayed.  Your children don’t know who you are. Sure.  They all have the potential to live large, but at what price?

Call me what you may.  Think of me what you will.  I’m content with whatever in life comes my way and, I’ll be grateful for it.  But I won’t give up everything for one single desire.  I enjoy the company of my friends and family to give up that time with them.

When the desire of money becomes greater than the desire of family. We’ve stopped living simply and, simply can’t really live.

Did you want to leave a comment? I love comments!

